Monday, May 8, 2017

Graduates – off to a new adventure…….

Principal “Reflections & Projections”

On May 13th, Spearfish High School will say goodbye to over 130 seniors.  Students that will embark onto the next steps of their lives.  The SHS Class of 2017 is a special one with each having the ability to prosper. That is if they utilize the tools they have been given to them over the past 13 years. 

Seniors of 2017, you did it!  All along, you knew you could, but (as in life) doubts came upon you a few times. You have met the challenges and now can call yourself a high school graduate. Congratulations!!  You worked hard and you are ready for the next stage of your life. You have made us all proud.  Thanks for a great 4 years.

Please remember, as you have heard me say numerous times, do not let anyone tell you that life is easy – if you hear that, do not believe it.  Life is fun – but not easy.  Continue to learn and continue to grow.

In past May graduation columns, I have used various snippets from books and articles. Some have prompted more thought and discussion than others. Like the Rotarian article by Frank Bures titled “Pomp and Happenstance” and a book 10 1/2 Things No Commencement Speaker Has Ever Said by Charles Wheelan.  Most of it is practical advice, something many seniors won’t hear during a typical graduation speech.  Something like, “No matter what, always take the first parking spot you see.”  Might save you a great deal of time??  “Marry someone smarter than you.”  “Even though your parents don’t want you to – don’t be afraid to take a risk or two. It’s the clear-eyed wisdom that comes from experiencing the brutal facts of existence.”  

How about this one, “I have no idea what the future will bring and neither do you.” Got you thinking? Rest assured, some of you will be working jobs that don’t exist right now. 

My advice. Show up early, be ready to work, challenge yourself daily and find something outside of work that you truly enjoy doing.

I have used a lot of Jon Gordon items this year, so I will end the year with Gordon again. Gordon has this advice for graduates and wants to encourage youth to not let failure, obstacles or fear keep them from pursuing dreams and living for purpose. Gordon list includes:

1. Where you are now is not where you are going to be.
2. You don’t have to be perfect to start. Just start.
3. Don’t be afraid to fail.
4. Sometimes you have to lose a goal to find your destiny.
5. You are here for a reason. You have a purpose and you are meant to live and share it.
6. You don’t have to be great. You just have to have a great desire to be your best and bring out the best in others.
7. Ignore the critics. Just show up each day and do the work.
8. Stay Positive.
9. If you believe your best days are ahead of you, they are. The best is yet to come

Every student that comes into my office sees the attitude plaque.  Attitude - is a little thing that makes a big difference.  They also see the yesterday plaque.  Don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.  I have both very visible for a reason. Think about each.

“We don't stop going to school when we graduate.” ~ Carol Burnett

Congratulations Class of 2017 and best of luck with your future.  It is a bright one…….

Until next time,
Steve Morford
Spearfish High School